Almost every AI tool rewards you for buying a bigger plan. Emergent does the opposite. Its Pro tier costs about 33% more per credit than Standard, which means the usual instinct โ upgrade to get cheaper units โ is exactly backwards here. Plans run from a free 10-credit tier to $200/month, and understanding why the expensive one costs more per credit is the whole game.
Emergent pricing, by the numbers
Public plan data, August 2026
10
Free monthly credits
Enough for one real attempt
$17
Standard, billed annually
100 credits a month
$0.17
Cheapest cost per credit
On Standard โ not on Pro
33%
Pro's per-credit premium
Over Standard, monthly billing
Emergent pricing at a glance
Emergent has three published tiers in 2026 plus a custom one: Free at $0 with 10 monthly credits, Standard at $20/month ($17 annually) with 100 credits, Pro at $200/month ($167 annually) with 750 credits, and Business/Enterprise at custom pricing. There is no Team plan โ collaboration features live in the Business tier.
The three published plans
Price, credits, and the unit rate
| Benchmark | Free Trial | Standard Builder | Pro Power user |
|---|---|---|---|
Monthly billing | $0 | $20 | $200 |
Annual billing Charged as one yearly payment | $0 | $17/mo | $167/mo |
Annual total | $0 | $204 | $2,004 |
Credits per month | 10 | 100 | 750 |
Cost per credit, annual Standard is the cheaper rate | โ | $0.170 | $0.223 |
Private hosting | No | Yes | Yes |
GitHub integration | No | Yes | Yes |
Buy extra credits | No | Yes | Yes |
Pro costs more per credit than Standard
Run the division and the pricing ladder inverts. Standard is $0.20 per credit monthly and $0.17 annually. Pro is $0.267 monthly and $0.223 annually โ roughly a third more expensive per unit on both billing cycles. Ten times the price buys seven and a half times the credits.
This is not a mistake, and it is not greed. It tells you plainly what Pro is for: Pro is a capability purchase, not a volume discount. You are buying the 1M-token context window, ultra thinking, system prompt editing, custom AI agents, and high-performance compute. The extra credits are a side effect of the tier, not its selling point.
If you're upgrading to Pro because you ran out of credits, you're paying a 33% premium to solve the wrong problem.
The practical consequence is sharp. Anyone who simply needs more credits โ same workflow, more of it โ should be buying top-ups on Standard rather than upgrading, provided the top-up rate beats $0.223 per credit. Anyone who needs a bigger context window or custom agents should upgrade regardless of how many credits they're using.
What a credit actually buys
Credits are consumed by every prompt you send โ building, generating code, testing, and deploying all draw down the same balance. Reported consumption runs about 1โ2 credits for a simple app action and 3โ5 for a complex, AI-powered one, scaling with the computational work involved.
The number that matters isn't the first build, though. It's iteration. A working project is rarely one prompt โ it's the initial generation plus a dozen rounds of "fix the layout," "add auth," "that broke the form." Budget by the revision cycle, not the app, and Standard's 100 credits looks like three to five real projects a month rather than fifty.
Failed generations still cost credits
Every prompt draws down your balance, including the ones that produce something you immediately discard. The cheapest way to protect credits is a precise, complete brief up front โ vague prompts get expensive fast because you pay for each correction.
The free plan: 10 credits a month
Free gives you 10 monthly credits with access to the essential platform, web and mobile builds, advanced models, and one-click LLM integration. At 1โ5 credits per action, that's one genuine project attempt โ enough to see whether Emergent's agents understand your kind of app, and not enough to finish it.
What free withholds is telling: private hosting and GitHub integration. You can build, but you can't take the code somewhere else or keep the result off the public web. Since Emergent's pitch is that you own and can modify all generated code, the free tier deliberately fences off the part that makes ownership useful.
Use it on one real idea, fully specified, rather than ten exploratory prompts. Ten credits spent on a single well-briefed build teaches you far more than ten scattered experiments.
Standard โ $20/month, or $17 annually
Standard is the plan most individuals should buy: 100 credits, private hosting, GitHub integration, fork tasks, and the ability to purchase extra credits, at $20/month or $204/year. It's also, as established, the best per-credit rate on the menu.
GitHub integration is the line that changes the product's nature. Without it, Emergent is a closed generator; with it, generated code enters your normal workflow โ version control, review, deployment, and the option to walk away from the platform with your project intact. For $20 a month, that's the difference between a demo tool and a real one.
Fork tasks matter more than they sound too. Branching a build to try an alternative approach without burning the original is precisely how you avoid paying twice for the same feature.
Standard first, always
Standard has the cheapest credits, private hosting, and GitHub integration โ everything needed for real projects. Compare Standard and Pro on Emergent and only move up if you need the bigger context window.
Pro โ $200/month, or $167 annually
Pro adds a 1M-token context window, ultra thinking, system prompt editing, custom AI agents, high-performance computing, and priority support, along with 750 credits, at $200/month or $2,004/year. Every one of those is a capability the cheaper tiers cannot buy at any credit volume.
The 1M context window is the headline. It's what lets the agent hold an entire large codebase in view rather than reasoning about fragments โ which is the difference between a tool that builds new features coherently and one that keeps breaking things it can't see. If your project has outgrown a few files, this is the upgrade that actually changes outcomes.
System prompt editing and custom agents are the other real draw. They convert Emergent from a fixed pipeline into something you can shape around your own conventions, stack, and review standards. That's a workflow upgrade, and it is worth the per-credit premium to the people who need it โ and worth nothing at all to the people who don't.
What the upper tiers actually add
Capability, not capacity
| Benchmark | Standard $20/mo | Pro $200/mo | Enterprise Custom |
|---|---|---|---|
1M context window | No | Yes | Yes |
Ultra thinking | No | Yes | Yes |
System prompts and custom agents | No | Yes | Yes |
High-performance compute | No | Yes | Yes |
Priority support | No | Yes | Yes |
SSO and role-based access | No | No | Yes |
Team workspaces, co-editing | No | No | Yes |
VPC deploy, self-hosted DB | No | No | Yes |
Business and Enterprise
Custom-priced and demo-gated, the top tier covers role-based access control, SSO, team workspaces, real-time co-editing, audit logs, self-hosted database support, VPC deployment, and usage analytics. Emergent is SOC 2 and ISO 27001 certified.
Note where collaboration sits. There is no mid-priced team plan โ the moment you need shared workspaces or co-editing, you're in a sales conversation. For a two-person project, the pragmatic workaround is two Standard seats plus GitHub, which is how most small teams should approach it anyway.
Monthly vs annual
Annual billing saves $36/year on Standard (15%) and $396/year on Pro (16.5%). The percentages are close enough that there's no tier-shopping advantage โ as with most tools, it's purely a commitment decision.
Given that Emergent's whole value depends on whether its agents handle your kind of project well, the case for starting monthly is stronger here than usual. Build two real things on Standard monthly. If the output holds up, $36 is a cheap discount to collect later; if it doesn't, you've avoided a $204 commitment to a tool that didn't fit.
Two numbers Emergent doesn't publish
Being straight about the gaps: the pricing page does not disclose the top-up credit rate, and it does not state whether unused credits roll over or expire. Both materially affect what you should buy.
The top-up rate decides the Standard-plus-credits versus Pro question outright. If extra credits cost less than $0.223 each, topping up Standard beats upgrading for anyone who only needs volume. If they cost more, Pro's premium starts looking reasonable. Third-party sources report that unused credits expire at the end of each billing period, but that isn't vendor-confirmed โ and if true, it means over-buying capacity is money burned every month.
Ask before you commit annually
Get the top-up credit rate and the rollover policy in writing before taking a $2,004 annual Pro commitment. Those two figures decide whether Pro is the right purchase at all, and neither appears on the public pricing page.
Which plan should you pick?
Stop at the first line that fits:
- Evaluating whether the agents understand your idea โ Free. Spend all 10 credits on one well-specified build, not ten experiments.
- Building real projects solo โ Standard at $20/month. Cheapest credits, private hosting, GitHub. This is the default answer.
- Out of credits, same workflow โ stay on Standard and buy top-ups, assuming the rate beats $0.223 per credit. Don't upgrade for volume alone.
- Large codebases, custom agents, or edited system prompts โ Pro at $200/month. Buy it for the 1M context window; the credits are incidental.
- A team needing SSO, audit logs, or co-editing โ Business/Enterprise. Or two Standard seats and GitHub, if you can live without the governance.
Is Emergent worth it?
At Standard's $17โ20/month, yes for anyone who ships small web and mobile projects โ the combination of code ownership, GitHub integration, and private hosting at that price is genuinely hard to beat, and the free tier lets you verify fit before paying anything.
Pro is a narrower proposition. $2,004 a year is a serious commitment for a tier whose credits are worse value than the plan below it, and it only pays off if you specifically need the context window, custom agents, or editable system prompts. Plenty of people will be better served by Standard plus top-ups. If you're costing out a broader stack, our Wispr Flow pricing breakdown and ElevenLabs pricing breakdown apply the same arithmetic to dictation and voice.
What to do next
Take the free 10 credits and build one thing you actually want, briefed properly in a single detailed prompt. Count how many credits the revision cycle consumes โ that number, not the marketing copy, tells you which plan you need. Then start on Standard monthly and only reach for Pro when you hit a capability wall rather than a credit wall.
10 free credits ยท Standard from $17/month billed annually ยท Cancel anytime
How these numbers were derived
Plan prices, credit allowances and feature tiers come from Emergent's public pricing page as of August 2026. Cost-per-credit figures, the 33% premium, and annual savings are our own arithmetic. Credit-consumption estimates (1โ2 credits simple, 3โ5 complex) and the reported credit-expiry policy are third-party figures, not vendor-published โ verify on the live pricing page before committing.
Frequently Asked Questions
8 questions answered
Enjoyed this article?
Share it with someone who'd love it.
Written by
AI Magic Editorial Team
We write about AI image generation, creative workflows, and how creators use AI Magic to ship faster โ built on the latest from Google Gemini.